Doily decor

1 Mar

Doilies.  They remind me of my grandmother, crocheting, and a stuffy tea room.  Now, don’t get me wrong… I LOVE my grandma, but doilies… Yuck!  It’s one of those words that make me cringe.  Let me rephrase, used to make me cringe.

I used to think of them as frilly, old and granny-ish.  Now, I find them vintage, sweet, and charming.  Delicate and romantic.  A PERFECT decor option, especially for weddings.  Sorry grandmas, we’re taking your beloved doilies to the next level.  Let me show you what I mean…

Don’t keep the doilies on the table, use them to dress up your seating card display.  FABULOUS!

found at The Knot

Is this not adoilyable… I doily menu!  A simple way to dress up each place setting.  If you love this as much as I do, visit My Hands Made It for a quick doily menu tutorial.

Doily bunting!!  How easy and elegant, not to mention extremely inexpensive. 

found at Loveaudrey

I found these doily envelopes at Ruffled.  What a cute way to dress up your invites.  Be sure to check out their website for a step by step tutorial.


YES, believe it… the chair swags and chandelier are made of paper doilies.  See how to make your own by visiting The Sweetest Occasion.

With us having an photo 1442538-1

How about a doily petal toss cone.  Super cheap and easy to make.  Check out Project Wedding for a tutorial.

I think this doily wreath is so charming.  Bored Blog Almighty has a tutorial that you should totally check out.  Wouldn’t a few of these be lovely at a wedding?

How sweet is this doily bouquet?  It could be carried during a wedding or be used to dress up the reception.  Either way, it’s super cute.

found at Etsy

I love the vintage romance this doily table runner brings to the table. 

found at Madame Bonbon


I’m loving this doily necklace.  I want to make one RIGHT NOW!  Wouldn’t this be the perfect bridal accessory?  Or possibly a homemade gift for your bridesmaids?  There is a great tutorial at Elizabeth Anne Designs.  You won’t believe how easy this one is!  Check it out!!

These doily cupcake wrappers are sooo cute.  They’d be perfect for any wedding, bridal shower, or party.  If you would like to try these there is a tutorial and free template over at Intimate Weddings

Another idea I adore and can’t wait to try… doily drink umbrellas.  A must have for a summer wedding or any outdoor party you may be having.  Check out the DIY instructions at Wedloft.

A doily bowl?!  Wouldn’t this be a darling centerpiece idea?  If you want to try making one of these, visit Design*Sponge for step by step instructions.  I even bet, if you’re crafty enough, you could turn this beauty upside down, add a light bulb, string it up and make a lovely doily lamp.  Yes, consider that a challenge! :)


This is what I’ll leave you with today… these lovely doily lanterns.  These would look great hanging in a tented reception.  For a tutorial visit Vermont Vows.

One Response to “Doily decor”


  1. The confetti blog - Creative Wedding Menu Ideas | The Confetti Blog - June 17, 2011

    […] Wine bottle menu on hangtag via The Ritzy Bee. Menu as wine bottle label via Martha Stewart Weddings. Circular black handwritten menus via Pinterest. Round purple menus by Mae Mae Paperie. Circular plate menus on doilies via Libby James. […]

Leave a Reply

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

